Cards anyone?

Unlucky in love, Lucky in cards? I am unlucky in both I fear! I am probably one of the only people I know who can’t play any card games beyond Snap, I never, repeat never win…..not even win, break even! I play cards with the kids, snap or happy families and I am slaughtered! I have played poker a couple of times, for money or clothes and you really don’t want to know how those games ended!

I do read the Tarot cards though, I started when I was about 20, stumbled upon them in a shop and bought a Rider Waite deck, that’s the most familiar deck and the one I recognised from movies and tv. I basically just played with them, holding and getting familiar with them, reading a book on cards, studying the pictures, trying to “feel” what each card was saying to me. Then after a couple of months I started to read friend cards (problem with that is you know a certain amount about people and you never know if you are reading things “into” the cards in the spread. Then as i got a bit better I began being asked by these friends to read their friends cards, and so i did.

This went on for several years, at any house or dinner party I was invited to I’d be asked to bring my cards and would spend at least a couple of hours in one of the bedrooms doing readings….it was horrible! Then my son was born, I was 24 and I just stopped going to house parties and dinner parties and I stopped doing the cards, I would occasionally come across them and give them a shuffle but nothing more than that. In the intervening years they have flitted in and out of my life, they always seem to disappear and then reappear just when I need some guidance, or i need to focus my mind on something.

Now I have a different deck of cards now, the Tarot of the Witches, pictured above, about three years ago I was in a shop (during a time when I hadn’t seen my original deck for a year or so) I saw the witches tarot and I just loved the illustrations, the colour and the style is just very Dali I suppose. Again, they have appeared and disappeared over the years, been through several more house moves (during one of these the original deck showed up too).

So the second half of 2007 brought many changes, lots of difficult decisions to be made and new beginnings to start, but my tarot cards remained hidden then the first night science guy (my new sexual partner? boyfriend? friend?) stayed over they made an appearance. I was rooting through my bedside locker looking for the condoms and they appeared, fell out, still wrapped in their silk scarf! I was shocked, no idea how they got there or how I hadn’t noticed they were there! So I have started talking to them again, they have obviously been drawn back to me (or me to them) for a reason, and I’ve managed to convince science guy to let me read his cards, even though he is totally analytical and thinks it’s rubbish he’s willing to let me do it!

It’s late now, I’m brain dead, I’ll post another time about how I think the cards work! Bet you can’t wait!

Sammy the Snake Two The Sequel!

Today I visited Wackers Pet Superstore! The children and I decided to buy a replacement snake, Sammy 2! I do have a lovely couple of pictures to put up on the blog but I haven’t been able to download them yet! So the picture above is a fully grown Corn snake, the same colour as mine! He seems a bit more frisky than Sammy 1, he was very squirmy and moved around the little box a lot on the way home! He seems to like his new home, and even ate a pinky mouse for his dinner! I am taking no chances this time and I did a bit of DIY on the tank today with bluetack, just in case this guy is another vanishing snake!

I’ll post the pictures as soon as I can! Fingers crossed that he’ll be ok, and that he’ll stay in the tank!