New Years Eve Post!

Please, please play the clip above! I love Doris Day! (note to self, write blog post about confusing childhood feelings for Doris Day, esp. as Calamity Jane)

So it’s 31st of December 2007, I did my first blog post on the 1st of May, I had no idea my year was gonna turn out the way it did, or that the blog would be a record of my ups and downs, my triumphs and failures! Maybe if I’d know the way the rest of the year was gonna go I wouldn’t have begun to blog about my life at all! There are advantages and disadvantages to blogging, honestly about my life. At times I can look at something I’ve written and feel relief at having vented and released the problem, worry, obstacle or whatever, but at other times when I vent I look at what I have written and I feel very ashamed of my feelings or uncomfortable with what I have written.

I began my blog because I felt very isolated after the birth of my third child, I felt so bereft, the birth of a wonderful little man and the changes he brought into my life felt like the worst thing that could possibly happen. Then several months later I discovered things about my partner and our relationship that meant our relationship couldn’t possibly continue anymore, so again I couldn’t imagine anything worse that could happen. Now of course I know there are hundreds of worse things that could happen! But in the moment you are overwhelmed with the power and the emotion of the situation.

Truth is I am 34 (35 on the 4th April, same day my son will be one….I want a huge party guys….huge!) and I have 3 beautiful (if currently troubled) children, I was in a relationship for nearly 17 years, which is quite good, and I have good health, physically and mentally, I travelled to the States alone this year, two firsts, travelling abroad alone, and visiting the states! This year has shown me there is nothing….nothing, that I can’t do! I am amazing, I am stronger than I ever believed I was, I am a woman who is gonna raise three amazing children and also have a fulfilled and fun filled life, I never thought I was that person, but I am! It took the worst year of my life to let me see how amazing I actually am!

2 thoughts on “New Years Eve Post!

  1. Right – you start throwing out the party demands, and I’ll make a list – we have three months, that should do it.

    You make a giant pavlova and I’ll make The Birthday Cake.

    You can even have The Juice, if you want! – as entertainment that is, you can’t shag them 🙂

  2. Many of us only wish we could have written such a brilliantly positive post for the new year 🙂 Well done MW.

Leave a comment