Look what we made!

A few of my mummy friends and their weenies were in my house last Friday, it was raining and the kids were running around upstairs…I won’t tell you how messy the kids rooms were when everyone left:-) So we were chatting away, everything from circumcision to cocktails and everything in between.

One of my friends who has two school going little ones was giving my little guy his bottle ( I’m very fussy over this, only people I really like and trust are allowed to it, it’s a very personal thing), so as he sucked away she ooh and aah ed over how cute he was, jokingly I asked was she clucky? She replied that her husband gets really bad, whenever he holds new babies, but that their family was complete. The rest of us were laughing at the thought of her big macho, beer drinking husband going soft over babies.

Then she said that every night, when the weenies are asleep, the hubby and herself sneak into their rooms and look at them, saying,”look what we made”. We all laughed, we all feel the same way, we look at our little ones with wonder, (usually when they are asleep, only time they are still enough), and wonder how did our kids get the best bits of both of us, the best being bits we never knew we had. My newest babe laughs in his sleep which I just find so cute, real laughter, his little shoulders jigging up and down. I can’t help but get up and look into his crib and smile, I made that!

What my friend said reminded me of a book I saw in a religious book shop window in Galway several years ago when I only had one child, it was titled, “They’re so good, when they are asleep”. Amen to that!