Cream Crackered

Sitting this evening, I was sorting the ironing, hubby was feeding (again) the baby, nine year old boy was reading a book and three year old girl was (supposedly) tidying her toys. Hubby asked the eldest to help her out, throwing his eyes up to heaven he said, “But I’m knackered!”
Horrified my hubby said, “young man I don’t want you using that word!” “Why?” Said my little guy. “Because it’s not a nice word”, replied hubby. Son looks confused then says, “What’s wrong with it? We say it in the school play next week!”
Needless to say I’m taking him out of school immediately!

I’m Scarlet!

Oh the Shame! Brought my little munchkin to Montessori today, after speaking to them yesterday about the invitation situation, the teacher grabbed my arm and said everything was sorted out, great! No not great, not great at all, they told the mother involved that my daughter was upset, so her son gave her an invitation on the way in this morning, as we passed her in the corridor I said hi to the mum, as usual. I reached my car, I was on my way to Dundrum (I know I live there) to meet a friend, and who walks over to my car but the mummy, I was trying to turn the key in the ignition and it wouldn’t work….bloody banger (it’s a wonder they let it into the car park in Dundrum), she came over to the window and did the universal windy down window signal, no!

As I opened the window and she bent down, she’s a lovely tall slender mummy, I considered speeding away (I so hate confrontation), She was of course uber nice, put her hand on my hand in an, “I understand your grief“, way, she was totally apologetic, totally missing the point that four other kiddies still aren’t invited and are upset! To her credit she was lovely, and I told her I hated parties, and she confided in me that she hated them too and was hoping that half the 30 kids she’d invited wouldn’t come, so now I consider her less of a yummy mummy! (On a related issue my friend and her hubby did vodka shots just before the twenty kids arrived on her doorstep for her sons 5th birthday).

So all was well, but I was mortified! Now I’m the mom who fights her daughters battles…which is so not me!