I’m Scarlet!

Oh the Shame! Brought my little munchkin to Montessori today, after speaking to them yesterday about the invitation situation, the teacher grabbed my arm and said everything was sorted out, great! No not great, not great at all, they told the mother involved that my daughter was upset, so her son gave her an invitation on the way in this morning, as we passed her in the corridor I said hi to the mum, as usual. I reached my car, I was on my way to Dundrum (I know I live there) to meet a friend, and who walks over to my car but the mummy, I was trying to turn the key in the ignition and it wouldn’t work….bloody banger (it’s a wonder they let it into the car park in Dundrum), she came over to the window and did the universal windy down window signal, no!

As I opened the window and she bent down, she’s a lovely tall slender mummy, I considered speeding away (I so hate confrontation), She was of course uber nice, put her hand on my hand in an, “I understand your grief“, way, she was totally apologetic, totally missing the point that four other kiddies still aren’t invited and are upset! To her credit she was lovely, and I told her I hated parties, and she confided in me that she hated them too and was hoping that half the 30 kids she’d invited wouldn’t come, so now I consider her less of a yummy mummy! (On a related issue my friend and her hubby did vodka shots just before the twenty kids arrived on her doorstep for her sons 5th birthday).

So all was well, but I was mortified! Now I’m the mom who fights her daughters battles…which is so not me!

7 thoughts on “I’m Scarlet!

  1. How mortifying MW! I know the invitation wasn’t the point, but will your daughter go to the party now anyway? Was she happy to get the invitation in the end?

  2. Ash,
    She was of course delighted, but it’s Sunday week so she can’t go, we are having a little BBQ and she’s excited about getting to see her friends at that! I’m obviously so upset that i can’t go:-}
    So I went to Daisy and Tom earlier and got a lovley book and card for him, I wouldn’t usually do that if she wasn’t going to the party, but now i have to be over polite!

  3. I have to write the post, it was an experience from the nazi priest to my dad throwing a strop! Tomorrow I’m hoping the baby will be so tired he’ll sleep and i’ll post then!

  4. Haeh, heh, you can’t even go – this is what you get for making waves eh? You get cornered in Dunbdrum SC!

    Strange, my own car wouldn’t start in Liffey Valley the other day.

    A friend of mine whose kids are grown says she well remembers sitting in the car in tears because sher daughter hadn’t been invited to a party. Perhaps it’s just a parental rite of passage.

  5. I have two invitations hidden in the compartment on my car door!!! You feel for them though dont you….when they feel left out. Nothing worse than that. Hope the christening went well MW.

    Ellen

  6. Ellen, Another two arrived today one for my son and another for my daughter…..It’s a joke, what happened to only celebrating the important birthdays?
    I’ll have to go to daisy and tom tomorrow and stock up again on gift vouchers and presents!

Leave a comment