Grinchy time!

I’ve already done a post on the group blog I post to today that featured Jim Carey! But here he is again, am I a freak because I find him attractive as a Dr Seuss character? Ok, don’t answer that! I love the Grinch story book, and I love the film (Jim is also starring in Horton Hears a Whoo, which is another of my favorite books, saw the trailer the other night). It’s my favorite recent Christmas film!

But this post isn’t really about that, it’s about how grinchy I’m feeling about Christmas this year. I love Christmas, I mean obviously it has it’s downsides, the over consumerism, the loneliness for people who aren’t blessed with loving families, the over indulgence in food and drink and don’t forget being stuck with members of your family you choose to avoid the rest of a year for a reason. This year is my first year as a separated mummy, it’s hard. The Christmas cards arrive and they are addressed to Midget Wrangler and family, or the wrangler family, people are nervous, they don’t know what to write in the cards! Then there is my own reticence to write my cards, I’ve had to do a few Birthday cards which is ok, but sitting down writing 30 cards just from me and the kids will be hard.

The shopping has been hard, my ex has supplied the money for Santa but doing it all on my own has been hard, lonely. No one to talk to about it, not the usual Christmas traditions we’ve had for years now. I should be trying to make new traditions for the kids but I feel like I’m trying to keep a load of plates spinning and if I have to start on another one the rest will come crashing down. The bit I’m dreading the most is Christmas Eve, putting the kids to bed, then doing Santa Claus, alone, usually our tradition involved Champagne and maybe smoked salmon. Setting everything out and then in the morning looking at the joy on the kids faces! This year I’ll be alone, and although it will be difficult for my ex not to be here he’ll probably be in the pub or something, not thinking about the loneliness of it all (not implying he’s an alco, just that he can do stuff to take his mind off it).

Christmas day we are going to my folks as usual, I love my mum’s Christmas dinner, but it will be difficult, coping with the three wee ones and hauling everything around, with no one special to share the private jokes with. I will head home with the wee ones and most probably open an bottle of wine to drown in! Stephen’s day kids will go to my ex in laws, and spend the night with their dad (he is coming to see them on Christmas morning too so they will be ok), So I’m gonna have Stephen’s day to myself, so I’ll be looking to get blotto! It’s just so different, everything has changed and the first time I do things alone it’s difficult, ok it gets easier but…..

4 thoughts on “Grinchy time!

  1. MW you’ll get through it just fine. You seem to be one of the strongest individuals I’ve ever met, you’ll get through it. You’ll probably really enjoy Stephens Day to yourself! If not gimme a bell!!

  2. Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year MW. You seem to me like a really strong woman and although it will undoubtedly be strange this year, you have family and friends to support you and that’s half the battle 🙂

  3. Gals, that’s lovely, You are so lovely to use such kind words! I know I am strong, and I am constantly changing, and it makes me happy to know I can do all these things.

    But you know that horrible pair of pjs you have at the back of the cupboard, they don’t fit anymore and you know they do nothing for you, but every now and then you just want to put them on, to slip into the comfortable safe embrace of the flannel, well that’s waht I want to do sometimes!

  4. You really have fallen in the deep end, with Christmas being so soon.
    i know we’re being positive for you but this post makes me want to cry. I think there must be days when you get to cry into a bottle. consider there to be an open invitiation to our house on stephen’s day – you can do your drinking in our sitting room!

Leave a comment